Unity Foundation of La Porte County congratulates eight local high school seniors as La Porte County finalists for the prestigious Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.


Two students from La Porte County will be selected as 2017 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars, to receive a full-tuition scholarship to be used to pursue a baccalaureate degree at any accredited public or private Indiana college or university and an annual $900 book stipend.


The 2017 scholarship finalists and their respective schools are:

  • La Lumiere High School: Stephanie Zaccone
  • La Porte High School: Bree Winter and David Toth
  • Marquette Catholic High School: Jenna Szaday
  • Michigan City High School: Sara Siegmund, Sarah Smith and Kaitlyn Steinhiser
  • South Central High School: Danielle Adams


Unity Foundation received 74 applications for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship from students throughout La Porte County.  Applicants were judged on their academic achievement, service to others, extracurricular activities and, to a lesser extent, financial need.  A committee of local volunteers reviewed the applications, not knowing the applicants’ names until after the finalists were selected.  The eight finalists were then interviewed, and nominee and alternate names were submitted to the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. for the final selection – which will be announced by the end of December. The fall selection timeline is new this year, allowing Lilly Scholars more time to apply to their desired Indiana colleges and universities.