Unity Foundation Community Scholarship Application Now Available Online

Applications are now available online for the 2018 Unity Foundation of La Porte County cycle of
scholarships and awards.
Deadline for submission is March 31. Scholarships and awards ranging from $250 – $2,500 each are
awarded through more than 50 funds at Unity, which is the community foundation serving La Porte
County. Scholarship opportunities are available for both graduating seniors and students who already
are in college.

To continue reading, click here...

To make the application process easier for students and school officials, all applicants can simply log
into www.uflc.net to complete and submit applications and documentation online. The common
application was designed to allow students to apply for several different scholarships through one
application. The common application evaluates the responses provided and matches applicants with
the scholarships for which they may be eligible. Students are encouraged to begin the process early,
as transcripts must be downloaded before the application is submitted and some scholarships require
verification of club involvement or activities.
In 2017, more than 140 students from throughout La Porte County received Unity Foundation
scholarships totaling $180,000 to help support their college tuition. That amount was in addition to the
generous Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships, which cover 100% of tuition for two La Porte
County students for four years of college.

Two specialty awards also can be found on the www.uflc.net web site. Some require nominations of
deserving students or adults:
Diane K. Bamberth Memorial Award (Nomination Deadline: March 31)
Current graduating La Porte High School seniors pursuing an undergraduate bachelor degree from
an accredited, tax-exempt college or university. Applicants will demonstrate the courage and
character of Diane Kay Bamberth through community service, leadership, humility, courage, and
tenacity, will exhibit strength through diversity, and a strong moral fiber. Recipients must enroll as fulltime
students. Nominators may be: Colleague, Clergy, Community Member, Family Member,
Professor/Teacher, Other.
Jan Nona Environmental Stewardship Award (Nomination Deadline: March 31)
Residents of La Porte or Porter County having demonstrated success in moving beyond ordinary
citizenship to be an activist in the area of environmental protection. Nominators may be:
Community Member, Family Member, Professor/Teacher, Self, Other.
The following additional printable scholarship application forms are available on Unity Foundation’s
The Michigan City Chapter of the Drifters Scholarship Application (Postmark Deadline: April 15)
The Greater Michigan City Chapter of the Drifters, Inc. is offering this scholarship to local area
students in effort to financially assist a distinguished African-American and/or other minority
undergraduate student of Michigan City High School pursuing higher education. Applications must be
downloaded and mailed to: Michigan City Drifters Scholarship Committee PO Box 73, Michigan City,
IN 46361.
New Day Foundation’s Connie Yagelski-Marhanka Music Scholarship (Postmark Deadline: April 6)
These scholarships will be awarded to graduating high school seniors from La Porte County who are
including music in their studies towards a degree or career. Applicants must download the
scholarship application and mail the printed application, essay, and transcript to: New Day
Foundation, Scholarship Committee, 31 Karwick Glen, Michigan City, IN 46360.
Susan Hay Hemminger Scholarship Foundation Application (Postmark Deadline: April 15)
There are four award criteria: financial need, academic achievement, community service / leadership,
and ability & commitment. Applicants must be legal residents of La Porte County, Indiana; graduates
of a high school district that includes La Porte County in its boundaries; and accepted/enrolled in a
two- or four-year undergraduate program at an accredited institution. Applications must be
downloaded and mailed to: Susan Hay Hemminger Scholarship PO Box 9242 Michigan City, IN
Since 1992, Unity Foundation of La Porte County has served donors, nonprofits and local
communities. As La Porte County’s community foundation, it manages approximately $31 million in
assets, administers more than 325 charitable funds, and has distributed approximately $16 million
through direct grants and scholarships. The Council on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in
compliance with all Indiana and national ethical and operating standards for community foundations.
Unity Foundation’s mission is to strengthen La Porte County now and forever by building permanent
endowments; providing leadership; offering philanthropic vehicles for everyone; and, being a catalyst
for social and economic vitality. For more information, please visit www.uflc.net or call 219-879-0327.

Recent Stories

2019 Lilly Scholarship Application is Live

Through support of Independent Colleges of Indiana and Lilly Endowment, Unity Foundation offers two four-year college scholarships to benefit La Porte County residents. The scholarships provide full tuition, required fees, and a special allocation of up to $900 per... read more

“…Unity works [by] fulfilling its vision for La Porte County in a very progressive, strategic and creative manner. We have the ability to make things happen that no other organization is in a position to do.”

Michele Magnuson

Board Member, Unity Foundation