Categories: Press Releases



Unity Foundation Announces 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

LA PORTE COUNTY, IN — Unity Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2022 Lilly
Endowment Community Scholarship for La Porte County—Jolie Klimczak and Macy Mrozinski. Lilly
Endowment Community Scholars are known for their community involvement, academic achievement,
character and leadership.

Jolie Klimczak, a South Central High School Senior, has demonstrated leadership in her school and
community through participation in a variety of extracurricular and volunteer activities including Future
Farmers of America (FFA), National Honor Society, and 4H. Her lifelong goal of studying veterinary
medicine led her to a volunteer opportunity at a local veterinary center, where she was later hired and
promoted. Klimczak has excelled academically, including in advanced placement, dual credit and honors
courses, and is ranked at the top of her class.

Macy Mrozinski, a La Porte High School Senior, has balanced her academics with leadership roles in a
number of extra-curricular and athletic activities including Varsity Volleyball and Tennis, National Honor
Society, National Technical Honor Society and Film Club. Mrozinski is enthusiastic about her community
and passionate about finding unique and effective ways to contribute and support the people around
her. She is ranked at the top of her class and has excelled in her coursework, which includes advanced
placement, dual credit and honors courses.

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees and a special
allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and equipment for four years of undergraduate
study on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private
nonprofit college or university. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars may also participate in the Lilly
Scholars Network (LSN), which connects scholars with resources and opportunities to be active leaders
on their campuses and in their communities. Both the scholarship program and LSN are supported by
grants from Lilly Endowment to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).

“Unity’s review committee noted the impressive academic and personal accomplishments of all of this
year’s finalists. Jolie and Macy stood out for their academic achievements, service to others and
innovative leadership roles,” said Shannon Walker, Unity Foundation Vice President.

Unity Foundation received over 70 applications for the 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship
from students throughout the county. Applicants were scored on their academic achievement, service to
others, extracurricular activities and, to a lesser extent, financial need. A committee of local volunteers
reviewed the applications, not knowing the applicants’ names until after selecting finalists. The
committee interviewed each of the eleven finalists and submitted their nominations to ICI, the
statewide administrator of the program, for the final selection.

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program has provided approximately $5 million in tuition
and book stipends to 68 La Porte County students since 1998. The primary purposes of the program are
1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial
roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support
the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with
Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in
Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

The nine remaining finalists will each receive a $2,000 scholarship from Unity Foundation and are
eligible to apply for additional scholarships administered by Unity Foundation beginning January 1, 2022.
In addition to graduating high school seniors and continuing college students, many scholarship
opportunities exist for adults looking to obtain a professional certificate, or associate, undergraduate,
graduate or doctoral degree. More information about these scholarship opportunities is available on
Unity’s website,

Since 1992, Unity Foundation of La Porte County has served donors, nonprofits and local communities. As
La Porte County’s community foundation, it manages $45 million in assets, administers more than 325
charitable funds, and has distributed more than $22 million through direct grants and scholarships. The
Council on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in compliance with all Indiana and national ethical
and operating standards for community foundations. Unity Foundation’s mission is to strengthen La
Porte County now and forever by building permanent endowments; providing leadership; offering
philanthropic vehicles for everyone; and, being a catalyst for social and economic vitality. For more
information, please visit or call 219-879-0327.

Related Posts

  • Published On: February 16th, 2024

    The Unity Foundation of La Porte County (Foundation), together with our investment adviser, Mason Investment Advisory Services (Mason), continued our work in alignment with the long term goal of the foundation to keep our funds invested in a portfolio of assets that allows us to meet our grant spending target, cover fees, while staying ahead […]

  • Published On: January 3rd, 2024

    LA PORTE COUNTY, IN — Unity Foundation of La Porte County is accepting applications for the 2024 cycle of scholarships. The deadline for submission is Friday, March 15, 2024. For the 2023-2024 school year, Unity’s scholarship program awarded $310,000 to 172 local students. “We know that getting certificates and degrees past high school means a […]