Categories: Press Releases



Unity Foundation Community Scholarship Application Now Available Online

Applications are now available online for the 2019 Unity Foundation of La Porte County cycle of
scholarships and awards.

Deadline for submission is March 22. Scholarships and awards ranging from $250 – $2,500 each are
awarded through more than 50 funds at Unity, which is the community foundation serving La Porte
County. Scholarship opportunities are available for both graduating seniors and students who already
are in college.

To make the application process easier for students and school officials, all applicants can simply log
into to complete and submit applications and documentation online. The Unity
Foundation General Scholarship application was designed to allow students to apply for several
different scholarships through one application. The general application evaluates the responses
provided and matches applicants with the scholarships for which they may be eligible. Students are
encouraged to begin the process early, as transcripts must be downloaded before the application is
submitted and some scholarships require verification of club involvement or activities.

In 2018, more than 140 students from throughout La Porte County received Unity Foundation
scholarships totaling over $200,000 to help support their college tuition. That amount was in addition
to the generous Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships, which cover 100% of tuition for two
La Porte County students for four years of college.

Two specialty awards also can be found on the web site. Some require nominations of
deserving students or adults:

Diane K. Bamberth Memorial Award (Nomination Deadline: March 22)
Current graduating La Porte High School seniors pursuing an undergraduate bachelor degree from
an accredited, tax-exempt college or university. Applicants will demonstrate the courage and
character of Diane Kay Bamberth through leadership, humility, courage, and tenacity, will exhibit
strength through diversity, and a strong moral fiber. Recipients must enroll as full-time students.
Nominators may be: Colleague, Clergy, Community Member, Family Member, Professor/Teacher,

Jan Nona Environmental Stewardship Award (Nomination Deadline: March 22)
Residents of La Porte or Porter County having demonstrated success in moving beyond ordinary
citizenship to be an activist in the area of environmental protection. Nominators may be:
Community Member, Family Member, Professor/Teacher, Self, Other.

The following additional printable scholarship application forms are available on Unity Foundation’s

The Michigan City Chapter of the Drifters Scholarship Application
The Greater Michigan City Chapter of the Drifters, Inc. is offering this scholarship to local area
students in effort to financially assist a distinguished African-American and/or other minority
undergraduate student of Michigan City High School pursuing higher education.

New Day Foundation’s Connie Yagelski-Marhanka Music Scholarship
These scholarships will be awarded to graduating high school seniors from La Porte County who are
including music in their studies towards a degree or career.

Susan Hay Hemminger Scholarship Foundation Application
There are four award criteria: financial need, academic achievement, community service / leadership,
and ability & commitment. Applicants must be legal residents of La Porte County, Indiana; graduates
of a high school district that includes La Porte County in its boundaries; and accepted/enrolled in a
two- or four-year undergraduate program at an accredited institution.

Since 1992, Unity Foundation of La Porte County has served donors, nonprofits and local
communities. As La Porte County’s community foundation, it manages approximately $32 million in
assets, administers more than 325 charitable funds, and has distributed approximately $19 million
through direct grants and scholarships. The Council on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in
compliance with all Indiana and national ethical and operating standards for community foundations.
Unity Foundation’s mission is to strengthen La Porte County now and forever by building permanent
endowments; providing leadership; offering philanthropic vehicles for everyone; and, being a catalyst
for social and economic vitality. For more information, please visit or call 219-879-0327.

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 9th, 2023

    LA PORTE COUNTY, IN — The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship application is available on the Unity Foundation website from August 9 to September 8, 2023. The program, administered statewide by Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) and locally in La Porte County by Unity Foundation will provide two area students with four-year, full tuition scholarships to […]

  • Published On: August 1st, 2023

    MICHIGAN CITY, IN — Unity Foundation of La Porte County invites Michigan City area educators to apply for grants to make learning and teaching more fun and impactful. Unity Foundation manages three grant programs established by caring donors who believed in teachers as the critical factor for learning. Together the programs have invested in more […]