Categories: Press Releases



Unity Foundation Welcomes New Board Members

MICHIGAN CITY, IN —Unity Foundation of La Porte County is pleased to announce the addition of Laura
Francesconi, Stephanie Oberlie, Dale Parkison and Seth Spencer to its Board of Directors.

Laura Francesconi recently retired from Meridian Title Corporation where she served as Senior Vice President
and Director of Corporate Development. Francesconi is the Chair of the La Porte Economic Advancement
Partnership GLEDC Board and serves on the Women’s Care Center Advisory Board and the La Porte County
Sheriff’s Merit Commission Board. On joining the Unity Board Francesconi said, “I am honored to be a part of
something so impactful in our community.”

Stephanie Oberlie is the President & Chief Operating Officer of Harbor Trust & Investment Management
Company. She is a past chair and current board member of the Economic Development Corporation Michigan
City. “I have witnessed Unity Foundation as a vison maker and a leader in our entire county making dreams for
individuals and families come true,” Oberlie said. “Unity has a track record as an innovator and change maker. I
am delighted to be a part of this organization.”

Dale Parkison is a partner with Parkison & Hinton, Inc., P.C. He is also a member of the La Porte Park Foundation.
Parkison said, “I have watched Unity’s funds build and grow over the years. The number of dollars that
accumulate makes a real difference to non-profit organizations.”

Seth Spencer is the founder and CEO of Sera Group, formerly SERA Solutions, and is a member of the Vibrant
Communities of La Porte County Leadership team. Seth also serves as Vice President for Junior Achievement of
La Porte County and is a board member of Economic Development Corporation Michigan City “It’s not too often
that you see organizations come together and work so much and so effectively with so many different partners,”
Spencer said. “The idea of being part of one of these powerhouse organizations that really gets stuff done gives
me a positive outlook on the future of La Porte County.”

“As we look ahead to the future and the celebration of our 30th anniversary next year, we are thrilled to add
these four new members with their many strengths to our board,” said Maggi Spartz, Unity Foundation
President. “They join an exceptional and diverse group of board members who will shape the next 30 years for
Unity and La Porte County.”

Francesconi, Oberlie, Parkison and Spencer join present members Jon Gilmore, Ed Volk, Marti Swanson, Dr.
Vidya Kora, Unity Founder Mike Brennan, Paul Applegate, Liz Bernel, Diana Corley, Angie Nelson Deuitch,
Barbara Eason-Watkins, Jim Kaminski, Ron Ragains, Scott Rice and Kim Sauers.

The Unity Foundation is grateful for outgoing member, Tom Edwards, who provided seven years of effective
board service.

Visit to learn more about Unity Foundation, including grants, scholarships and charitable giving ideas.

Since 1992, Unity Foundation of La Porte County has served donors, nonprofits and local communities. As La
Porte County’s community foundation, it manages over $40 million in assets, administers more than 325
charitable funds, and has distributed more than $21 million through direct grants and scholarships. The Council
on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in compliance with all Indiana and national ethical and operating
standards for community foundations. Unity Foundation’s mission is to strengthen La Porte County now and
forever by building permanent endowments; providing leadership; offering philanthropic vehicles for everyone;
and, being a catalyst for social and economic vitality. For more information, please visit or call 219-

Related Posts

  • The Unity Foundation of La Porte County (Foundation), together with our investment adviser, Mason Investment Advisory Services (Mason), continued our work in alignment with the long term goal of the foundation to keep our funds invested in a portfolio of assets that allows us to meet our grant spending target, cover fees, while staying ahead […]

  • LA PORTE COUNTY, IN — Unity Foundation of La Porte County is accepting applications for the 2024 cycle of scholarships. The deadline for submission is Friday, March 15, 2024. For the 2023-2024 school year, Unity’s scholarship program awarded $310,000 to 172 local students. “We know that getting certificates and degrees past high school means a […]