Categories: Uncategorized



Seven teachers from six Michigan City public and parochial schools received grants from the Barbara A. Carmen Memorial Endowment Fund through Unity Foundation of La Porte County.

The fund was established in 1992 in memory of the late Barbara A. Carmen, a Michigan City Area School’s elementary school teacher.  Mrs. Carmen’s family conceived this fund through Unity Foundation to promote excellence in the classroom.

Annual grants are awarded to fund special classroom projects and programs which will enrich curriculum or enhance a teacher’s ability to meet student needs. Over $44,000 has been awarded thus far to finance teacher-directed projects, classroom equipment, and continuing education for teachers.

This year 19 applications were submitted, with seven approved, totaling $2,572.50. The teachers will reach nearly 700 students with the following projects:



Michigan City Area Schools:

Edgewood Elementary School

Teresa Pavloff, Mary Bowser: Multi-Media Math Stars, $270

Knapp Elementary School

Nancy Gonzalez: Listeners for Literacy, $296.01

Krueger Middle School

Betheny Bortz: Hooked on Books, $483.25

Lake Hills STEM Magnet School

Sheri Wagner: Everyone Reads, $473.26


Private/Parochial Schools:

Notre Dame Catholic School

Jennifer Scriba: REWARDS, $317.85

Kate Bobillo: Ready Set Read, $500

St. Stanislaus Kostka Catholic School

Kristi Harmon: Life and Style of Henri Matisse, $232.13

For more information contact Sandy Gleim, 219-879-0327

Related Posts

  • Published On: January 24th, 2023

    Indianapolis, Indiana — Shannon Walker, Vice President of Unity Foundation of La Porte County has been selected as a member of the 2023 class of the Mutz Philanthropic Leadership Institute. Launched by Indiana Philanthropy Alliance in 2021, the Mutz Institute provides a leadership training experience to skill-up professionals serving in board and executive roles at […]

  • Published On: January 4th, 2023

    Unity Foundation Scholarship Applications Now Available Online LA PORTE COUNTY, IN — Unity Foundation of La Porte County is now accepting applications for the 2023 cycle of scholarships and awards. The deadline for submission is Friday, March 24, 2023. Scholarship awards average over $2,000 each. For the 2022-2023 school year, Unity reduced tuition bills worth […]