Categories: Uncategorized



My name is Rebecca Ehrick. I am a lifelong La Porte County resident. I graduated from La Porte High School in 2008 and immediately enrolled into the nursing program at the Purdue Northwest Campus (formerly known as Purdue North Central). During my studies at Purdue, I was fortunate enough to receive several scholarships from the Unity Foundation- from both the La Porte Country Nursing Scholarship Fund and the Judith A. Amor Scholarship Fund. I graduated with my Bachelors of Science in Nursing in 2012 and began working as a registered nurse at La Porte Hospital. A few years later, I enrolled at Purdue Calumet to begin studying to be a nurse practitioner. During my time at Purdue Calumet, I was awarded yet another scholarship from the Unity Foundation. I am happy to say that graduated with my Master’s Degree in Nursing in 2017 and I am now working as a Family Nurse Practitioner, here in my home town of La Porte.  As a long-time student, I would like to express my sincere gratitude to The Unity Foundation and all of it’s generous donors who make these scholarships possible. These scholarships help ease the financial burden on students and allow more focus on what is important- learning and growing in their future careers! 


Like Rebecca, Unity Scholarships can help advance your career.   Click here to start your application today!

Related Posts

  • Published On: June 1st, 2023

    MICHIGAN CITY, IN —Unity Foundation of La Porte County is accepting applications online for its 2023 Community “Power for Good” Grants through Friday, July 21. Organizations may apply for up to $5,000 to fund projects that strengthen La Porte County in meaningful ways. Eligible applicants include nonprofit 501(c)(3) organizations located in or serving La Porte […]

  • Published On: March 15th, 2023

    LA PORTE COUNTY, IN — Two local leaders are serving on the 2023 Board of Directors for the Indiana Philanthropy Alliance (IPA). Maggi Spartz, President of Unity Foundation of La Porte County was elected as Chair of the IPA board for 2023.  She has served on the board for eight years and on various committees. […]