Categories: Uncategorized



Applications are now available online for the Unity Foundation of La Porte County 2014 cycle for scholarships and awards.

Deadline for submission is April 13 through the Foundation’s new and improved online scholarship platform.  Scholarships and awards ranging from $250 – $2,500 each are awarded through more than 50 funds at Unity, which is the community foundation serving La Porte County.

To make the application process easier for students and school officials, Unity has invested in a new and improved online platform. All applicants can simply log into  to complete and submit applications and documentation online. Students are encouraged to begin the process early, as transcripts must be downloaded before the application is submitted.

In 2013, more than 120 students from throughout La Porte County received Unity Foundation scholarships totaling $131,250 to help support their college tuition. That amount was in addition to the generous Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships, which cover 100% of tuition for two La Porte County students for four years of college.

Four new scholarships were added to Unity this year, thanks to the generosity and foresight of individuals and families who either set aside money in their estates to help others, or decided to set up funds to memorialize loved ones.

  • Judith A. Amor Nursing Scholarship supports La Porte County residents to obtain undergraduate, graduate or doctoral degrees in nursing.

  • E-Z Riders Horse and Pony Scholarship is for a current graduating senior who is a five-year member of a 4-H Horse & Pony club, and a current member of La Porte County E-Z Riders.

  • James A. and Phyllis A. Garwood Memorial Music Scholarship is for students pursuing higher education in music performance, music education, or a similar music degree.

  • Galena Township Scholarship benefits residents of the township who are enrolled in an accredited or otherwise credible educational institution or program.

“Unity Foundation is very pleased to offer even more scholarships this year,” President Maggi Spartz said. “But while we were able to support the goals of more than 120 students in 2013, there isn’t enough funding to provide for dozens more applicants. The good news is, even if people aren’t able to open their own fund, they could help increase our awards by giving to the Unity County-Wide Scholarship.”

In addition to scholarships, specialty awards also can be found on the web site. Some require nominations of deserving students or adults:

  • The Jan Nona Environmental Award honors students or “teachers inspiring students” in the Michigan City area, who move beyond being an ordinary citizen and become involved in community environmental issues.

  • The Diane Kay Bamberth Memorial Award is for a graduating La Porte High School senior who demonstrates community service, leadership, humility, courage, tenacity, strength during adversity, and strong moral fiber.

Since 1992, the Unity Foundation of La Porte County has served donors, nonprofits and La Porte County.  It manages approximately $25 million in assets, administers more than 270 charitable funds, and has distributed nearly $11 million through direct grants and scholarships.  The Council on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in compliance with all Indiana and national ethical and operating standards for community foundations.  Unity Foundation’s mission is to strengthen La Porte County now and forever by:  building permanent endowments; providing leadership; offering philanthropic vehicles for everyone; and, being a catalyst for social and economic vitality.  For more information, please visit or call 219-879-0327.

Related Posts

  • MICHIGAN CITY, IN —Unity Foundation of La Porte County is accepting applications online for its 2024 Community “Power for Good” Grants through Friday, July 19. Organizations may apply for up to $5,000 to fund projects that strengthen La Porte County in meaningful ways. Eligible applicants include nonprofit 501(c)(3) organizations located in or serving La Porte […]

  • LA PORTE COUNTY, IN — In honor of Teacher Appreciation Day, Unity Foundation of La Porte County surprised four local teachers with classroom grants. Unity Foundation invited the public to submit nominations by sharing what makes the teacher special. Of the many nominations received, four were randomly selected. Their schools will each receive a $250 […]